Alexisonfire are back! Like back back. Ok, so on one hand, it feels like they were never really gone- the Canadian outfit announced their hiatus in 2011 but were touring again in 2015 and released a trio of new songs pre-pandemic.

On the other hand though, it feels like they’ve been gone forever, and every previous hint at a grand return has turned out to be a total tease. Until now.

The band have announced that their fifth album, ‘Otherness’, will be out June 24th this year via Dine Alone.

Ahead of that, you can hear the grungy ‘Sweet Dreams of Otherness’ by pressing play on the video below.

This very much feels like a continued evolution of Alexisonfire’s sound to me. There is no attempt to keep up with the kids they used to be, no nostalgia play, and instead there are grimy, atmospheric layers, buried melodies, and slow-burning style.

Eerie album artwork and tracklisting (which notably features none of those earlier singles) for the album are below.

  • Committed to the Con
  • Sweet Dreams of Otherness
  • Sans Soleil
  • Conditional Love
  • Blue Spade
  • Dark Night of the Soul
  • Mistaken Information
  • Survivor’s Guilt
  • Reverse the Curse
  • World Stops Turning

A grand return at last. Welcome back, boys!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.